Concepts of voice

Initially I tried to get rid of my feeling of shame by theorising these occurrences as reminders of the impossibility in general that the other could hear/understand me or “know what I mean”. Gradually, however, I became convinced that it was the particular way I say “voice” that prevented my conversation partners from following the unspoken rules of politeness in conversation, which involve a tendency to regain from asking what some might call “clarifying” questions. Those questions or what is called in pragmatics “other-initiated self-repairs” are only asked if the speaker doesn’t attempt to free her or his speech from those impurities that the listener might consider responsible for the preliminary breakdown of communication between them.

– David Azul

About cinemelo

I love to write about film and comment on culture. Hopefully providing insight and interesting thoughts for fellow cultural itinerants.
This entry was posted in theory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

