Having Sex, Museum-Style

See this article about the Museum of Se[x] on The Times website. Exerpt:

 Academics ruin sex. They analyze it, explain it, deconstruct it, and by the time they’re done, you wish they had stuck to talking about Kant’s Prolegomena to Any Future Metaphysics. So when the Museum of Sex opened in Manhattan, I shouldn’t have been surprised that it was heavy on the museum and light on the sex. Maybe if it were called the Museum of Erotic History, I wouldn’t have been as disappointed. But when I heard about the Museum of Sex, my mind shot right past museum and straight to the sex part. I think my past experiences at the end of the Hershey and Guinness factory tours had built unreasonable expectations.

 Well, I know I am going to visit this museum when I’m in NY, I can’t wait. But academics do ruin sex, in a way – I couldn’t help but question my (habitual, it seems) activity of psychoanalysing sadomasochism. ‘This takes all the fun out of it,’ I thought, ‘why not just do it?’ Regardless, it can be fun to theorise your perversions.

About cinemelo

I love to write about film and comment on culture. Hopefully providing insight and interesting thoughts for fellow cultural itinerants.
This entry was posted in life, pop culture, theory, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

