I don’t care if the sun don’t shine

I fucking love working at  Priscilla, Queen of the Desert – The Musical. I realised this the other night when I was sitting up the front, indulging in the fact that I was watching all these beautiful-bodied men wearing makeup. Especially Daniel Scott as Adam (or even Felicia!). So. Damn. Attractive.

Someone said the other day that they didn’t think any school groups would be going to see Priscilla. I thought- why not? I have loved this film since I was eight, and found Guy Pearce very attractive, it’s very much something for kids too.

Talking to friends about it last night, Elanna said that because there was too much sex and sexual issues in it for adults to approve of it for children, schools probably wouldn’t be taken to see it because then teachers would have to accept responsibility etc. But then I thought, verbatim, ‘Even though it is about sex, it reinforces heterosexual values in the end with a monogomous union between a man and a woman (even though, shit, she’s actually a transsexual, maybe that doesn’t work).

And then I thought, what a fucking wank that I thought that about eight year olds going to see a show. As if they would recognise any of that.

06n_priscilla_wideweb__470x2330.jpg

Point is, it’s still quite a bit of fun. Kids should go see it.

About cinemelo

I love to write about film and comment on culture. Hopefully providing insight and interesting thoughts for fellow cultural itinerants.
This entry was posted in musical theatre, pop culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

