Theory at bedtime

Yesterday I got up early, had a coffee with a friend, picked up Paul Virilio’s War and Cinema from the library, then went home and it took me until 5pm to write a 500 word post for my World Screen blog. Very slow day.

Went to the gym (a house excursion!), cooked eggplant and chickpea soup. Read some Susan Sontag, Jean Baudrillard, and went to sleep at ten o’clock thinking about Sontag: ‘Most contemporary expressions of concern that an image-world is replacing the real one continue to echo, as Feuerbach did, the Platonic depreciation of the image: true insofar as it resembles something real, sham because it is no more than a resemblance.’

I’ve recently made myself a Facebook profile- is my obsession, and obviously thousands of other peoples’, with our images, constructed of our chosen ‘interests’ and our uploaded photograph collections, evidence of this disappearance of the real world? My online page resembles me, but so vaguely- it is a sham because it is no more than a resemblance, and a resemblance of only some of my parts. For a sum of my parts, I need myself, in the real.

That said, I’ve been having a lot of fun with my mobile phone camera lately. And am obviously moving in the direction of wasting yet another day for study.

About cinemelo

I love to write about film and comment on culture. Hopefully providing insight and interesting thoughts for fellow cultural itinerants.
This entry was posted in life, theory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

