Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland

I have written a final paper for my surrealism subject on Alice, Jan Švankmajer’s 1988 film based on Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland. It is a purely surreal film, blending animation and filmed reality to put the spectator on a plane where both exist as one. It is an expression of a space where the marvellous abounds, where anything might happen and, as it occurs in a space of reality, it would seem entirely imaginable.

After spending a morning on the essay, the other day I walked to the library to borrow out the novel. On the way home I passed a T2 store, and in the window were some printed boards featuring excerpts from the text and illustrations of its content. This invented tale is saturating my reality- a surreal experience? I certainly feel as though a white rabbit could appear in my room right now, exclaim ‘I’m late’, and I would think nothing of it. It has truly made me recognise a changed reality, as Wendy Everett says of the surrealist text, one where this perception of the marvellous situates our mind in a space where we would let anything happen.

About cinemelo

I love to write about film and comment on culture. Hopefully providing insight and interesting thoughts for fellow cultural itinerants.
This entry was posted in cinema, pop culture, theory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

