My top ten?

Okay, so I have drafted a top ten favourite films. Still not sure how to classify my favourite, as in which attributes are most important to give them such a position. Also, I have made a conscious effort to make it a non-American centric list, so have made eliminations based on that. Whether this means that certain films would not be included without such an effort, I am not sure yet. But this is my first real attempt at such a list and as yet, there is no sequential order by which i rank them. That will come.

Will change, no doubt.

1. The Man Who Knew Too Much (Alfred Hitchcock, 1956)

2. Les Parapluies De Cherbourg (Jacques Demy, 1964)

3. La Chinoise (Jean-Luc Godard, 1967)

4. Rear Window (Alfred Hitchcock, 1954)

5. Cabaret (Bob Fosse, 1972)

6. Imitation of Life (Douglas Sirk, 1959)

7. The Goddess of 1967 (Clara Law, 2000)

8. Happy Together (Wong Kar Wai, 1997)

9. Some Like It Hot (Billy Wilder, 1959)

10. The Postman Always Rings Twice (Tay Garnett, 1946)

And others I was toying with: Hiroshima Mon Amour (Alain Resnais, 1959), In A Lonely Place (Nicholas Ray, 1950), The Big Sleep (Howard Hawks, 1946), Strictly Ballroom (Baz Luhrmann, 1992), Raise The Red Lantern (Zhang Yimou, 1991), Written On The Wind (Douglas Sirk, 1956), Love Me Or Leave Me (Charles Vidor, 1955), How To Marry A Millionaire (Jean Negulesco, 1953), What Ever Happened To Baby Jane? (Robert Aldrich, 1962).

About cinemelo

I love to write about film and comment on culture. Hopefully providing insight and interesting thoughts for fellow cultural itinerants.
This entry was posted in cinema, life. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My top ten?

  1. imtheotherdave says:

    Nice list.

Leave a comment