Unfortunately, I have just rediscovered the wonder of sausages and tomato sauce

More than anything else I have read or heard, in the media or from people I have spoken to (even various vegan and organic eaters) this article expresses views that I agree with and entirely believe in. Not wholly in the nutrition areas; despite that I would very much like to take very good care of my eating habits I often break into taboos. Pollan’s views on research, studies, ‘claims’ and ‘statistics’ reflect some that I have held for a very long time. In a nutshell, that they are derived in often very tenuous circumstances, with the help of equivocal evidence and that they cannot be trusted.

Unhappy Meals

And an interesting anecdote to complement the article: my brother read Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation and the first meal he bought after finishing was from McDonald’s. Even though he recited me some appalling facts about the source of their food and its intense lack of nutritional value, he had “been thinking about it all day” so had a craving. I seriously wonder how often this may happen, and if it is often, should Schlosser feel guilty?

About cinemelo

I love to write about film and comment on culture. Hopefully providing insight and interesting thoughts for fellow cultural itinerants.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unfortunately, I have just rediscovered the wonder of sausages and tomato sauce

  1. brother says:

    Stop defaming me on your blog! It was the 2nd meal.
    I’m back 🙂

Leave a Reply

